Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Photo courtesy of Wikimedia

Over the past month and a half, I’ve been planning a surprise trip for my husband’s 60th birthday.  My niece recommended a couple of the hotels and I used the following guides to plan the rest of the trip:

Karen Brown’s Guides
I used Karen Brown’s Guide to Italy years ago and had one of the best holidays of my life!

Mr. & Mrs. Smith Guides

We’ve just discovered these guides and they are fantastic for hotels, activities and restaurants! Upmarket, but worth it for special occasions!

Luxe City Guides

The first time we will use these guides since we discovered them. Recommendations are very upmarket, but great when you feel like indulging yourselves.

Australian Gourmet Traveller magazine.  Don’t subscribe? You can look up articles, which appear in Australian Gourmet Traveller magazine by searching the General OneFile database (available through most public libraries) and the Australia/New Zealand Reference Centre database (if you’re down-under).

Food & Travel magazine.  This is a British food and travel magazine and has great recommendations and recipes!

TimeOut guides.  Available for major cities worldwide – check your favourite bookseller or local library.

Moon Guides.  These guides and yelp.com (below) were recommended to me by a librarian at one of the destination cities on our trip.  Check availability with your favourite bookseller or local library.

expedia.com

Reliable, competitive – excellent way to book hotels, flights, etc.

yelp.com

It’s been great fun planning the trip and I managed to keep it a secret until I was ready to confess what I’d been up to! Mr. Boomer Life Today was speechless!!

What are your favourite travel guides? Let us know – we’d love to hear from you.

Until next time,

Your Boomer Life Partners

Disclosure: Products mentioned in this Boomer Life Today blog post were not solicited or paid for by companies in New Zealand or abroad.

