Tags

, , , , , ,

I just finished reading a very interesting book by US Senator Joe Leiberman called The Gift of Rest : Rediscovering the Beauty of the Sabbath.  In it, he explains the customs and traditions of observing the Jewish Sabbath (Saturday).  It confirmed for me that the idea of having a day of rest was something I`d like to commit to.  In the past, Mr. Boomerlifetoday and I have tried not working on a Sunday and although we both really enjoyed it, we couldn`t sustain the practice over time.  It takes planning and preparation to actually refrain from working.  Observant Jews begin their Sabbath at Friday sunset.  They prepare all their food ahead of time, including boiling water and keeping it in an urn.  They don`t drive anywhere (walking wherever it is they want to go).  They don`t use electronic gadgetry or watch television, preferring to use their time reading, going to synagogue and enjoying the company of friends and family.

I don`t think we could adhere to as strict a regime as this but I`d like to spend more time on Sundays at the beach, going for walks/bike rides, exploring unknown parts of the city/countryside, reading, engaging in crafts or seeing friends and family.  It would mean doing grocery and other shopping through the week in order to prepare food for Sunday. I`d also have to do all the housework in advance, but it would be worth it to have one day off a week.

As I was thinking about committing to a day of rest, it occurred to me that although my mother always cooked food on Sunday, my parents often took Sunday off.  My parents always went to church in the morning and my paternal grandmother visited every other Sunday, as far back as I can remember. My father often spent  the afternoon watching sports or reading the Saturday newspapers.  My parents often had other family members or friends drop in for a visit and in the summer, they spent a lot of time relaxing on our front porch.  Drives through the countryside were often part of Sunday afternoons too.  It was the one day of the week when you weren`t expected to be productive.

Does this idea appeal to you or do you already set aside one day a week for rest?  How do you prepare and what do you do on your day off? Please share….

Until next time,

Your Boomer Life Partners

Disclosure:   Mention of the product in this Boomer Life Today blog post was not solicited or paid for by companies/people in New Zealand or abroad.

