Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

If you have been following our blog, you will know how much I love fabric, so it will come as no surprise that I attended the Auckland Quiltmakers’ Quilt Show & Market this weekend. My mother always loved quilts and from a very young age, I would go with her to quilt markets and exhibitions in Elmira, St. Jacobs, and Kitchener in Southern Ontario, Canada. She did some quilting herself but also commissioned an “old-order” Mennonite woman to make a white whole-cloth hand-quilted piece, which I have to this day. My family connection to quilting does not stop there – one of my cousins is a beautiful quilter and I can only hope that someday I will be.

Although I have a stash of quilting fabric, I have only made one small quilt, the result of taking lessons from a very talented French quilter living in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia. Most of her masterpieces were original designs and many were inspired by Islam. Another extremely talented quilter – a German woman, I met while working for the Arabian American Oil Company (ARAMCO) in Dhahran, Saudi Arabia was also inspired by life in the Middle East and she created some truly magical quilts. Unfortunately, I’ve lost touch with these amazing textile artists, but my appreciation for quilts and quilting remains.

Here are some of my favourite quilts from today’s exhibition. There are so many talented people here in New Zealand. Enjoy!

IMG_0523

IMG_0525

IMG_0528

IMG_0529

IMG_0532

IMG_0533

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_0535

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Which one/s do you prefer?

Until next time,

Your Boomer Life Partners

Disclosure: Mention of this event and its quilts was not solicited or paid for by companies or individuals in New Zealand or abroad.

 

