Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

This week, I’d like to follow up on some past blog posts.

Health is at hand Parts I and II

HONcode

Those who have followed our blog from the beginning may recall our posts titled Health is at hand Parts I and II.  I have just completed an online course through the National Library of Medicine in the US and want to provide you with an update.  Previously, I recommended using the HON code as a way of determining reliable consumer health information. However, it seems that there have been some sites featuring the code, which are providing inaccurate information. Although, they have been asked to remove the code, compliance is voluntary.  Also, some others in my course had reservations about WebMD because it is commercial site funded by pharmaceutical companies, so a word of caution is in order there too.

Form follows function in the kitchen

In Form follows function, I took a look at different kinds of jar openers and while we were in Canada over Christmas, I bought the newest version of the Good Grips jar opener (see above).  It takes little effort to use and fits all jar/bottle lid sizes.

A miracle minefield

La Roche Posay Substiane [+] Eyes  15ml/0.5oz

In A Miracle Minefield, I talked about the different skincare regimes recommended in the medical literature and promised to let you know which products I purchased.  For a day moisturizer, I have been using Nature Organics’ River Veda Rejuvenate Day Star SPF 30 UVA and UVB cream. I have sensitive skin and this New Zealand cream is effective and gentle.  At night, I use La Roche-Posay Redermic R Anti-Aging Dermatological Treatment for my face and La Roche-Posay Substiane+ Fundamental Replenishing Anti-Aging Care for my eyes.  La Roche-Posay products are made in France and are available in Shopper’s Drug Marts in Ontario, Canada and through nz.strawberrynet.com in New Zealand.  I would highly recommend their products – not only are they effective, but they also score well in the Environmental Working Group’s Skin Deep Database.  If you don’t know about this database, click or touch here.

Too much baggage

Airstream Large Suitcase

In Too Much Baggage, I was contemplating a new piece of lightweight  luggage.  While on our US holiday last year, I bought Antler’s Airstream Large Suitcase and am very pleased with it. It’s lightweight, turns on a dime and has a 10 year guarantee. To learn more, click or touch here.

Is there a product that has really improved your life?  Let us know…

Until next time,

Your Boomer Life Today Partners

Disclosure: Products mentioned in this Boomer Life Today blog post were not solicited or paid for by companies in New Zealand or abroad.

