Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

meditation

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

These past six months have been very difficult because my department has been under review.  To help me cope with the stress, I enrolled in mindfulness classes offered by my employer, a large healthcare organization, here in New Zealand.

Mindfulness is the practice of maintaining, as much as possible, a calm awareness of your body, feelings and mind.  It involves guided meditation and activities that encourage you to be totally present in the moment.  My course consisted of one two-hour session per week for 4 weeks, although, normally courses run over an 8 week period and include a silent retreat.  However, in this short time, I have noticed decreased physical and emotional stress levels, reduced chronic pain, enhanced sleep quality and increased gastrointestinal comfort. It has also increased my ability to think more creatively and I understand that large corporations, such as Google, use it to spark innovation in the workplace.

I am really very grateful to the facilitators of the course and our organization for making it available and I hope to take more classes and perhaps attend a silent retreat.

To learn more about mindfulness, here are a few books, which you may find interesting.

Kabat-Zinn, Jon . Wherever You Go, There You Are: Mindfulness Meditation in Everyday Life

McEwen, Kathryn. Building Resilience At Work

Thich Nhat Hanh. The Miracle of Mindfulness: An Introduction to the Practice of Meditation

Tolle, Eckhart. The Power of Now: A Guide to Spiritual Enlightenment

Oh, and I found out on Friday that I have not been made redundant 🙂

Until next time,

Your Boomer Life Partners

Disclosure: Mention of products in this Boomer Life Today blog post was not solicited or paid for by companies or individuals in New Zealand or abroad.

