If you knew then what you know now……what would you have changed in your life?  It’s a fascinating question don’t you think?  I was thinking of this the other day after hearing a colleague say recently that he would never advise his children to follow in his career footsteps.  I couldn’t help agreeing with him – not that I have any children, but I wouldn’t follow the same career path if I had it to do over again.

In the beginning it seemed like a good choice and while it has “put food on the table” for over 30 years now, it hasn’t been easy.  I was one of the lucky ones out of graduate school to land a job – 75 students graduated and only 3 of us had positions to go to.  Mine was due in large part to the fact that I was willing to live in a city in northern Ontario, where to get most places you had to fly.

Since then I’ve made the most of my profession –  it’s taken me around the world, but it has also involved a lot of sacrifice, hard work, risk-taking and perseverance. Although it requires a Masters degree to practice in North America, in other parts of the English-speaking world, including New Zealand, you can practice without any degree.  Salaries, even in Canada and the US do not reflect the education required to become qualified. It is a very under-appreciated, misunderstood profession and many are losing their jobs as organizations trim costs and streamline processes.

If I was to advise anyone choosing a career, I’d say to do something that interests you. Avoid careers where you have to continually justify your existence within organizations. Although money isn’t everything, ensure that your salary reflects the training required and that the qualifications are consistent worldwide.

What would you change if you knew then what you know now?

Until next time,

Your Boomer Life Partners

