Flag_of_Canada.svg

 

July 1st is Canada Day, the date which commemorates my home country’s confederation in 1867. The other day I was reading the latest Canadian Living magazine, which I subscribe to on Zinio (an online magazine platform developed by, you guessed it, a Canadian) and the editors had asked readers what made them feel proud about being from the Great White North.  One person wrote that they were proud of the fact that Canada refused to join the US and the UK campaign in Iraq.  Others mentioned Canada’s sporting achievements in global events, like the Winter Olympics and our scientific successes, such as Canadarm.  It got me thinking about what makes me proud to be Canadian.  While I’m happy that Canada did not send troops to Iraq and applaud our athletic and technological prowess, what really impresses me is the great reputation ordinary Canadians have fostered with people the world over. Canadian tourists are welcomed everywhere, to the extent that some non-Canadians have been known to sport the Canadian flag on their luggage/knapsacks or wear a “Canada, eh!” hat/pin in order to ease their passage, while overseas. Countries looking for English language teachers love Canadians because we enunciate our words clearly, speak more slowly and come with good qualifications. I was educated in Canada from kindergarten through graduate school and feel that I received a very good education, which prepared me well for my profession. Any healthcare I received while living in Canada was provided by very knowledgeable, caring and highly professional practitioners. I’m also proud that Canada has opened its doors to so many refugees  and immigrants, accepted them and provided them with opportunities to realize the Canadian dream – to live in, as our national anthem says, the “True North strong and free.” So this July 1st, we wish all Canadians living at home or abroad a very Happy Canada Day!!!

Until next time,

Your Boomer Life Partners

Disclosure:  No mention of products in this Boomer Life Today blog post were solicited or paid for by companies in New Zealand or abroad.

